Wild boars in heat

A confluence of factors last night led to me staring at a wild boar about 15-20 feet from my bedroom window.   Let me explain…

Let’s start with the first factor – it’s really really hot here.  Normally you would turn on the AC.  I have AC but it doesn’t work.  Woohoo.  So to combat the heat when I sleep, I’ve been leaving my bedroom window open at night to let some breeze in.  It helps a little, but there are trade-offs.

The main trade-off is that I hear lots of noises from outside and upstairs, like the neighbors getting busy from time to time, thank you.  I also have heard some weird rustling sounds from outside, like some sort of animal.  The first time, it kind of startled me.  So I opened my window and saw what looked like a small bear rummaging through the brush.  Fascinating.

Last night, with my window open naturally, and after the neighbors did their thing of course, at about 11:30pm I hear the rustling again.  So, I look outside and I see this wild boar — it’s hard to miss — rooting around some trash and brush presumably looking for food.  It’s really really big!  And it’s about 15-20 feet from me.  And it doesn’t even care that I’m watching it or shining it with a light to get a better view of it.

IMG_20190807_233835.jpg

My nightly visitor.  He usually comes by around 10-11pm.

It was so close to me, I could have easily pegged it with something from my bedroom window.  My building is really really weird.  It’s like there’s a moat between my bedroom’s side of the building and the brush on the other side.  Then there’s this towering bridge above that you walk across to get from the street to the buildings.  Underneath, is like a mini-forest area where the wild boar and I’m assuming his/her buddies forage at night.

In fact, as I’m writing this right now, I hear the rustling again and sure enough, there’s another wild boar outside making his presence known.  And it’s only 9pm.  And it’s hotter than it’s been all week, which means my window stays open at night, which means I hear everything.  Everything!

I did go running again tonight, which was nice.  That’s three nights in a row.  I went with another guy who lives in a building near me.  We have a Whatsapp group with a bunch of people who all live nearby.  It’s nice to be part of a community like that.

I also did my laundry today for the first time here after three weeks.  It was pretty uneventful, although I did catch myself wishing I could just call Rafael and have him bring over his washing machine.  No joke, that thought actually ran through my mind.  All I had to do was take my clothes to the laundry place and do it there, but I guess I’m getting lazy.  I am slowly building my routine, though, which is a good thing.

Laundry adventures in Colombia (2016)
Laundry in Chile (2017)
Laundry, Round Two (Colombia 2018)
Laundry, 74 Days (Colombia 2018)

One thought on “Wild boars in heat

  1. Pingback: End of the Line | Viva el Falafel

Leave a comment